Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Press Releases
 Route Details
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Manual 2016
 Race Manual 2015
 Race Manual 2014
 Race Admin
 Rs Over The Years
 Rs Stories
 Kreiz Breizh lites



President Cycles
R�s Archives


Gabriel Howard, Legendary Figure In Irish Cycling
Nicholas Roche being interviewed by his good friend Gabriel Howard

Everybody knew Gaybo the length and breadth of the country and beyond - Gabriel Howard, a legendary figure in Irish cycling, passed away earlier this month following a farm accident, writes Paul Fitzpatrick

The 1963 Rs Tailteann, the 12th renewal of the race, was groundbreaking. In first place was Zbigniew Glowaty of Poland, the first non-Irish champion, who beat Kerrys Dan Ahern into second.

Behind him in sixth was Christy Kimmage, father of future Tour De France rider and leading journalist Paul. And way back, clinging on to a friend on a service motorcycle, was a man whose name would become synonymous with the annual event and the sport of cycling itself Gabriel Gaybo Howard, from Stamullen, Co Meath. More>>>

The 2018 Rs Route
The 2018 Rs Route

Rs Tailteann route 2018 (UCI 2.2 race)

Stage 1, Sunday May 20: Drogheda to Athlone, 136 kms:
Stage 2, Monday May 21: Athlone to Tipperary, 148.7 kms:
Stage 3, Tuesday May 22: Tipperary to Listowel, 140.4 kms:
Stage 4, Wednesday May 23: Listowel to Glengariff, 153 kms:
Stage 5, Thursday May 24: Glengarriff to Mitchelstown, 150.2 kms:
Stage 6, Friday May 25: Mitchelstown to Carlow, 154.6 kms:
Stage 7, Saturday May 26: Carlow to Naas, 141.2 kms:
Stage 8, Sunday May 27: Naas to Skerries, 144.6 kms:

Total: 1180.5 kms

The Late Gabriel Howard
The Late Gabriel Howard

Ras Tailteann Still Seeking A New Sponsor For 2018
Eimear Dignam

Having learned earlier this year that An Post was stepping away after many years of backing the race, the organisers of the Rs Tailteann have said that they are still seeking a new backer for the 2018 edition.

We are still looking for a sponsor, Eimear Dignam told the Irish Times on Thursday. We have had talks with a couple of different prospective sponsors, but so far nothing has come from that.

We are looking for title sponsors, but if we are not successful with that, we are happy with two or three sponsors to come in as a unit.

The race has been a part of Irish sport since 1953 and is the biggest cycling event in the country. It is a world-ranked event on the UCI calendar and has played an important part in the development of many successful riders, including world champions such as Stephen Roche and Tony Martin. More>>>

Gerry Keogh Stage Winner In His First Rs Tailteann
The Late Gerry Keogh

Ratoath native Gerry Keogh, who died in Dublin recently, was a prominent cyclist at a time when Meath riders were enjoying considerable success nationally, in the 1950s. A native of Halltown on the Skyrne Road Ratoath, he lived in Clonsilla, and was aged 91 when he passed away at Connolly Memorial Hospital Blanchardstown on the 16th November 2015.

Working in Dublin as a young man, he began his cycling career with The National Cycling Club in his twenties. He worked in Allied Irish Finance alongside Kerry cyclist, Gene Mangan, having earlier worked at construction, including operating what was then Irelands biggest crane at the building of the church in Finglas.

He took part in his first Rs Tailteann in 1955, and won the sixth stage, a testing 88 mile spin from Cork to Tralee over mountainous terrain. He was in an eight-man breakaway group for nearly 100 miles before breaking away on his own in the closing stages to win by 10 seconds from Gene Mangan, Kerry who was the outright winner. More>>>

Tony Campbell Resignes As Ras Director
Tony Campbell

Race Organiser of An Post Rs/Rs Tailteann for the past five years Tony Campbell has resigned from the position. Citing personal reasons Campbell informed Dermot Dignam, Chairperson of the promoting club, Cumann Rs Tailteann, of his decision.

Campbell Continues As Rs Chief
Tony Campbell
Cumann Rs Tailteann Cycling Club has confirmed Tony Campbell as organiser of the 2018 8 day international cycle race, An Rs Tailteann. This will be Campbells sixth year in charge of the race. Campbell said hes honoured to be continuing in the position and is looking forward to the challenges ahead. He expects next years race to take place from 20th to 27th May, a date to be confirmed by Union Cycliste Internationale,

Club Chairman, Dermot Dignam, heads up a sponsorship committee tasked with attracting a new sponsor to replace An Post which had to end its seven year involvement due to current financial difficulties. The committee includes Tony Campbell, Eimear Dignam and Noel Candon. Dignam thanked An Post for its great sponsorship and current support in seeking a new sponsor More>>>

James Gullen Britain JLT Condor Takes The 2017 An Post Rs Title
James Gullien Britain JLT Condor With The George Plant Trophy After His Victory On The Rs

An Post Rs 2017 Overall Results
Download/View File ]

An Post Rs Stage 8 Pictures Ardee To Skerries
Przemyslaw Kasperkiewich An Post Chain Reaction Wins The Final Stage Of The 2017 An Post Rs In Skerries Wearing The Mountain Leaders Jersey

Last Updated: Feb 25th, 2018 - 13:04:41

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media