Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Press Releases
 Route Details
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Manual 2016
 Race Manual 2015
 Race Manual 2014
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



Irelands Young Hope O'Loughlin Part Of Wiggins Team For An Post Rás
By Rás Admin.
May 5, 2017, 10:25


Andrew Tennant Team Wiggins
With the countdown to the 2017 An Post Rás now on the home stretch, a further two British teams have been confirmed; Team Wiggins and Madison-Genesis have both announced their entries, adding to the ten strong international squads already taking part.


Talented Irish under 23 rider Michael O’Loughlin will be part of the powerful Team Wiggins team for the event, joining the Britons Andy Tennant, Chris Latham, Joey Walker and Nathan Draper.


Richard Hanley,Madinson Genesis
This will be O’Loughlin’s first An Post Rás and he has already illustrated his talent by finishing third in last year’s National Road Race Championship despite being in his first year as a senior rider. The performance earned him the national under 23 title. In 2015 he won a stage and finished second overall in the Nations Cup event Trophée Centre Morbihan.


Joining him will be Andy Tennant who won a stage of the Fleche du Sud in 2015 and has been part of the Great Britain track squad for many years. Chris Latham recently took a bronze medal in the scratch race at the Track World Championships, while Walker and Nathan are two promising second-year senior riders.


“The team will ride the Lincoln GP and the Ronde de l’Isard before the Rás,” states Team Wiggins manager Andrew McQuaid. “The road [how the Rás plays out] will then decide team tactics and the leaders.”


The second team confirmed this week is the Madison Genesis squad. The team have had success in the race before, with Liam Holohan winning the penultimate stage of the 2014 edition. Manager Mike Northey states that the line-up will be confirmed closer to the event, but gives a provisional squad. Taking to the Irish roads will be Matt Holmes, Erick Roswell, Taylor Gunman, Alex Blain and Joe Evans.


Alex Blain,Madinson Genesis
Roswell and Holmes have both ridden An Post Rás in the past and will be able to draw on that experience of what is a very unpredictable and unique race. Holmes was third on a stage and seventh overall last year. He recently finished fifth overall in the Tour de Yorkshire, faring well against riders on World Tour teams. Roswell took a fine third place on stage five of last year’s Tour of Britain.


Kiwi rider Gunman was Oceania Continental Championship Road Race champion in 2015 and also won the New Zealand Cycle Classic the same year. Frenchman Blain was winner of the Tour de Normandie in 2011

and the Rutland-Melton International CiCLE Classic the following year.


"As a team we don't want to come to the Rás as just pack fillers,” says Northey. “We want to animate the race and go for stage wins or the overall general classification. The latter will depend on how the next few weeks goes for us, including any possible injuries. Both Erick and Matt Holmes have done well in the Rás before so we would be looking to them for the potential yellow jersey. The remaining guys will hopefully be hunting stages.”


An Post Rás race director Tony Campbell is looking forward to seeing the teams in action and, so too, O’Loughlin. “Michael O’Loughlin is one of the most talented young Irish riders and will have a bright future. He is a natural attacker so An Post Rás should suit him very well.”


Matt Holmes,Madinson Genesis
Joe Evans, Madinson Genesis
Today’s announcement brings the number of confirmed overseas teams to twelve, with others yet to be announced. Those confirmed thus far include squads from Australia, Belgium, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Slovenia, the USA and Great Britain.


The 2017 An Post Rás will begin in Dublin on Sunday May 21st and features stage finishes in Longford, Newport, Bundoran, Buncrana, Dungloe, Donegal, Ardee and Skerries.


It comprises eight gruelling days in duration, totalling 1200 kilometres in distance and includes 21 categorised climbs.


Team Wiggins (Britain) - provisional:

Michael O’Loughlin (20, Ireland)

Andy Tennant (29, Britain)

Chris Latham (23, Britain)

Joey Walker (19, Britain)

Nathan Draper (19, Britain)


Madison-Genesis (Britain) - provisional:

Matt Holmes (23, Britain)

Erick Roswell (26, Britain)

Taylor Gunman (26, New Zealand)

Alex Blain (36, France)

Joe Evans (20, Britain)



An Post Rás 2017 (Total: 1199.8 kilometres):

Stage 1, Sunday May 21: Dublin to Longford (146.1 kilometres)

Stage 2, Monday May 22: Longford to Newport (142.9 kilometres)

Stage 3, Tuesday May 23: Newport to Bundoran (149 kilometres)

Stage 4, Wednesday May 24: Bundoran to Buncrana (151.8 kilometres)

Stage 5, Thursday May 25: Buncrana to Dungloe (181.2 kilometres)

Stage 6, Friday May 26: Dungloe to Donegal (132.1 kilometres)

Stage 7, Saturday May 27: Donegal to Ardee (167.3 kilometres)

Stage 8, Sunday May 28: Ardee to Skerries (129.4 kilometres) 



Latest Headlines
Tony Campbell Resignes As Ras Director
Campbell Continues As Rás Chief
James Gullen Britain JLT Condor Is Crowned An Post Rás 2017 Champion
MeiJjers Battles Through Rain ToTake Stage Seven Of An Post Rás
Yssaad Sprints To Stage Six Victory As Kasperkiewicz Conquers The Mountains
An Post Team Secure Second Rás Stage Win As Gough Takes Victory Into Dungloe
Mathew Teaggart An Post Chain Reaction Race Leader
Irishman Teggart Takes Emphatic Stage Three Victory in An Post Rás
Van Schip Soloes To Superb Stage Two Victory In An Post Rás
Denmark’s Nielsen Edges Gritty Opening Stage of 2017 An Post Rás


Last Updated: May 5th, 2017 - 16:45:34

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media