Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Route Details
 Press Releases
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2020
 Race Manual 2019
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



1979 Stephen Roche Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
By Eddie Dawson
May 10, 2007, 16:52

Route Of The 1979 Health Race Rás Tailteann

23th. June- 1st. July

Stage 1:  Dublin To Longford   70 Miles.
Dublin, Maynooth, Kilcock, Enfield, Mllingar, Edgeworthstown, Longford.

Stage 2: Longford To Westport 92 Miles.
Longford, Strokestown, Tulsk, Frenchpark, Ballaghadereen, Charlestown, Swinford, Bellvary, Castlebar, Newport, Westport.

Stage 3: Westport To Ennis 94 Miles.
Westport, Partry, Ballinrobe, Kilmane, Headford, Galway, Oranmore, Kilcolgan, Arderahan, Gort, Crusheen, Ennis.

Stage 4: Listowel To Cahersiveen 95 Miles.
Listowel, Stacks Mountain, Tralee, Castlemaine, Killorglin, Glenbeigh, Cahirsiveen, Athmagar Bridge, St.Finians Bay, Ballynahow, Coomanaspig, Portmagee, Athmagar Bridge, Cahersciveen.

Stage 5: Cahersiveen To Mallow 90 Miles.
Cahersiveen, New Chapel Cross, Lissatainning Bridge, Ballaghoisin Pass, Bealaw Bridge, Glencar, Killarney, Rathmore, Cloonbanin, Mallow.

Stage 6: Mallow To Carrick-On-Suir 92 Miles.
Mallow, Castletoenroche, Fermoy, Ballyduff, Lismore, The "Vee", Clogheen, Cahir, Clonmel, Mountain Road, Rathgormick, Feddins Cross, Carrick-On-Suir.

Stage 7: Carrick-On-Suir To Tullamore 93 Miles.
Carrick-On-Suir, Kilmaganny, Thomastown, Gowran, Leighlinbridge, Old Leighlin, The Butts, Gorteen, Crettyard, Newtown, Swan, Abbeyleix, Mounthrath, The Cones, Clonaslee, Tullamore.

Stage 8: Tullamore to Navan 93 Miles.
Tullamore, Kilbeggan, Mullingar, Castlepollard, Oldcastle, Ceannus Mor, Carlstown, Slane, Barretstown, Navan

Stage 9A: Individual time Trial 16 Miles.
Navan, Beua Parc Slane Navan.

Stage 9B: Navan to Dublin Phenix Park 50 Miles.
Navan, Dunshaughlin, Clonee, Mulhuddart, Castleknock, Phoenix Park Plus 12 laps of the 2 Mile circuit.

Stephen Roche I.C. F. & Colm Nulty, Wicklow

Race Director:      Dermot Dignam

Stage Winners.

Stage 1:   Dublin To Longford 70 Miles.   A. Penant (Belgium)   2-54-06

Stage 2:   Longford To Westport 92 Miles.  S. Roche (I.C.F.)   3-56-14 

Stage 3:   Westport To Ennis 94 Miles.   B.McCormack (Wicklow)  3-25-38

Stage 4:   Ennis To Cahersiveen 95 Miles.   A. McCormack (I.C.F.)  3-55-44

Stage 5:   Cahersiveen To Mallow 90 Miles.  P. Morton (Wicklow) 3.32.37

Stage 6:   Mallow To Carrick-On-Suir 90 Miles.  J.C. Breure (France)  3-28-00

Stage 7:   Carrick-On-Suir To Tullamore 93 Miles B. McCormack (Wicklow) 4-14-10

Stage 8:   Tullamore To Navan 93 Miles.  J.C.Breure (France) 3-19-11

Stage 9A: Navan 16 Miles Individual T.T.    S.Roche (I.C.F.)  36.47

Stage 9B: Navan to Dublin 50 Miles.       A. Hilgert (Germany) 1-54-13

Colm Nulty, Wicklow Race Leader With Team Mate Alan McCormack Mountains Leader

General Classification 











S. Roche, I.C.F. 

J. Breure, France      

A. McCormank I.C.F. 

B. Kerr, N.I.C.F.

J. Shortt, I.C.F.   

M. Nulty, Wicklow 

E. Connolly, Meath Tayto

A. McKeown, N.I. C.F.

C. Nulty, Wicklow

B. Kesters, Belgium










Alan McCornack I.C.F. Mountains Winner

Points Winner:  Stephen Roche I.C.F.

Mountains Winner: Alan McCormack I.C.F

International Team Winners France
J.C. Breure, G. Marlinvard, J Martin, G. Demont

Regional Team Winners I.C.F.
T. Lally, J. Shortt, O. McQuaid, A. McCormack, S. Roche

County Team Winners Wicklow
M. nulty, P,Morton, C. Nulty, D. Brennan, B. McCormack

Colm Nulty, Wicklow, and Oliver McQuaid, I.C.F., on the attack on Ballaghisheen Mountain in Kerry.

The Competitors And Teams Of 1979


1.       S. Kennedy

2.       P. Flanagan

3.       D. Devin

4.       P. McHugh



5.       A.  Kesters

6.       J.P. Van Spauwen

7.       P. Sches

8.       J.  Driesen



9.       J. C. Breure

10.   G. Marlinvard

11.   J. Martin

12.   G. Demont


      West Germany

13.   H. Willer

14.   A. Hilgert

15.   M. Struver

16.   W. Forster



17.   H. Krins

18.   H. Dehey

19.   F. Steuten

20.   H. Meggels



21.   T. Lally

22.   J. Shortt

23.   O. McQuaid

24.   A. McCormack

25.   S. Roche


      N.I.C.F. Team A

26.   B. Kerr

27.   B. Stevenson

28.   P. McGarrigle

29.   A. McKeown

30.   P. Shearer



31.   G. Lundy

32.   J. McKenna

33.    E. McGuinness

34.   E. Dunne

35.    P. Curtis



36.   J. Lawlor

37.   J. Walshe

38.   P. Lawlor

39.   V. Kelly,

40.   J. O’Neill



41.   P. Crowley

42.    J. O’Sullivan

43.   S. Curtin

44.   D. Crowley

45.   D. McCarthy


      Dublin Ericsson

46.   S. O’Hanlon,

47.   R. Kearns

48.   R. McCornack

49.   A. Ellard

50.   T. Murphy


      Dublin Kelly Carpets

51.   F. Riordan

52.   H. Dawson

53.   J. McCormack

54.   M. Cusack

55.   P. Mahon


      Dublin Irish House Tipp.

56.       P. Tansey

57.       L. Keenan

58.       S. O’Grady

59.       D. Long

60.       R. Gleeson



61.       B. Madden

62.       J. Hegarty

63.       R. Philips

64.       J. Madden

65.       N. Kelly


      Kerry A

66.     M. Griffin

67.    P. Landy

68.    K. Murphy

69.    P. O’Shea

70.   T. Looney


      Kerry B

71.   P. Healy

72.   A. O’Halloran

73.   M. Breen

74.   G. McCarthy

75.   L. Dowd


      Meath Tayto

76.   G. Howard

77.   E. Connolly

78.   K. Reilly

79.   S. Crotty

80.   J. Murphy


      Meath Navan

81.   N. Clarke

82.   G.Moloney

83.   T. Mannion

84.   S. Mcguire

85.   S. Lally


      Meath  L.M O’B.

86.   G. Campbell

87.   P. Bidwell

88.   R. Scanlon

89.   J. Kelly

90.   M.O’Hara


      Offaly P.M.P.A.

91.   E. Scully

92.   M. Usher

93.   J. Connell

94.   S. Mannion

95.   G.O’Rourke


       Tipperary Shield Insurance

       96.    B. Power
       97.    B. Kennedy
       98.    T. Ryan
       99.    L. Power
       100.  P.Power



       101.  P. Duffy
       102.  K. McInerney
       103.  E. Smyth
       104.  S. Darcy
       105.  H. Sherratt



       106.  M. Nulty
       107.  P. Morton
       108.  C. Nulty
       109.  D. Brennan
       110.  B. McCormack


       N.I.C.F Team B

       111.  J.Hatchell
       112.  E. McKinney
       113.  P.Henry
       114.  J. Nesbitt

Stephen Roche Wins Stage Two Longford To Westport

Stephen Roche Winner 1979

Dermot Dignam, Race Director, presenting race winner Stephen Roche, I.C.F., with his yellow jersey.

Jack Murphy Meath Tayto

Anthony O'Halloran, Kerry

106 Mick Nulty Wicklow, No, 25 Stephen Roche I.C.F. No. 21 Tony Lally I.C.F, No 8 J. Driesen Belgium. No. 81 Noel Clarke, Meath Navan

Meath Tayto Team Bem McKenna Manager Kevin Reilly, Jack Murphy, Eddie Connolly Stephen Crotty and Gabriel Howard

Dublin Kelly Carpets Team Paddy O'Sullivan (Manager) P.Mahon, H, Dawson, F.Riordan, J. McCormack, Missing out of pic. M. Cusack

Photographs © Copyright www.rástailteann.com


Latest Headlines
1979 Stephen Roche Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1977 Yuri Lavyrushkin U.S.S.R. Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1976 Fons Steuten Holland Wins Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1975 Paddy Flanagan Kildare Wins The Discover Ireland Ras Tailteann
1974 Peter Doyle I.C.F.Wins The Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1973 Mike O' Donoghue, Carlow Wins The Tayto Rás Tailteann
1973 Race Manual
1972 John Mangan Setanta C.C. Wins Your Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann
1971 Colm Nulty Meath WinsYour Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann


Last Updated: May 30th, 2021 - 11:13:23

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media