Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Route Details
 Press Releases
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2020
 Race Manual 2019
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



1971 Colm Nulty Meath WinsYour Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann
By Eddie Dawson
May 9, 2007, 20:20


 Your Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann 1971 

25th. June - 4th.July


Stage 1:     Dublin To Dunleer, 40 Miles.
Dublin, Swords, Balbriggan Drogheda, Dunleer.

Stage 2:     Dunleer To Clones, 86 Miles.
Dunleer, Dundalk, Newry, Armagh, Aughnacloy, Monaghan, Clones.

Stage 3:     Clones To Sligo, 80 Miles.
Clones, Belturbet, Killashandra, Mohill, Drumsna, Carrick-On-Shannon, Boyle, Collooney, Ballysodare, Sligo.

Stage 4:     Sligo To Oughterard, 115 Miles.
Sligo, Ballysodare, Collooney, Tubercurry, Charlstown, Swinford, Forford, Castlebar, Ballinrobe, Oughterard.

Stage 5:     Oughterard To Milltown-Malbay, 72 Miles.
Oughterard, Glaway, Oranmore, Kilcolgan, Kinvara, Lisdoonvarna, Ennistymon, Milltown-Malbay.

Stage 6 A:  Milltown-Malbay To Kilrush, 17 Mile T.T.
Creagh, Corraclare, Kilrush.

Stage 6 B:  Tarbert To Dunquin, 70 Miles.
Talbert, Listowel, Tralee, Derrymore, Camp, Lougher, Anascaul, Lispole, Dingle, Ventry, Dunquin.

Stage 7:      Dunquin To Castletownbere, 116 Miles.
Drunquin, Vetry, Dingle, Lispole, Anascaul, Inch, Castlemaine, Farranfore, Killarney, Kenmare, Glengariff, Castletownbere.

Stage 8 A:  Castletownbere To Killarney, 54 Miles.
Castletownbere, Ardgroom, Lauragh, Kenmare, Kilgarvan, Crohane, Killarney.

Stage 8 B:  Killarney Criterium ,25 Miles.

Stage 9:     Killarney To Roscrea, 109 Miles.
Killarney, Farranfore, Castleisland, Abbeyfeale, Newcastlewest, Rathkeale, Adare, Limerick, Nenagh, Moneygall, Roscrea.

Stage 10:   Roscrea To Dublin, 76 Miles.  
Roscrea, Mountrath, Portlaoise, Monasterevin, Kildare, Naas, Dunlin. 

Colm Nulty Winner Of The 1971 Rás Tailteann

Race Director:   Joe Christle

Stage Winners :

Stage 1: Dublin To Dunleer 40 Miles.   B. McKenna (Meath B) 1-21-10

Stage 2: Dunleer To Clones 86 Miles.  J. Mangan (Kerry)  3-40-55

Stage 3: Clones To Sligo 80 Miles.   B. Flynn (Kerry) 3-41-30

Stage 4: Sligo To Oughterard, 115 Miles.  N.Clarke (Meath A) 5-04-30

Stage 5: Oughterard to Milltown-Malbay 72 Miles.  L. Clarke (Meath A) 3-14-30

Stage 6A: Milltown-Malbay To Kilrush, 17 Mile T.T.  B.Flynn (Kerry) 45-46

Stage 6B: Tarbert To Dunquin, 70 Miles.   J. McConville (Armagh) 3-18-15

Stage 7: Dumquin To Castletownbere, 116 Miles.   C.Nulty (Meath A)  5-20-12

Stage 8A: Castletownbere To Killarney, 54 Miles.  B. Flynn (Kerry) 2-21-16

Stage 8B:  Killarney Criterium 25 Miles.   R. Gaughier (France) 1-14-25

Stage 9:  Killarney To Roscrea, 109 Miles.   M. O'Donoghue (Carlow)  4-38-00

Stage 10: Roscrea To Dublin 76 Miles.  B.Flynn ( Kerry)  2-50.15

John Mangan, Kerry Stage Winner & Second Overall

General Classification 











C. Nulty, Meath A

J. Mangan, Kerry     

G. Howard, Dublin

J. McConville, Armagh

B. Flynn, Kerry  

T.P. Reilly, Meath A

S. Kennedy, Meath A

B. McKenna, Meath B

B. Connaughton Meath A

M. O’Donoghue, Carlow

37- 38-06










Team Meath A

C. Nulty, S.Kennedy, L.Clarke, B. Connaughton, T.P.Reilly, N. Clarke

Larry Clarke Meath A Winner Of Stage 5

List Of Competitors 1971 

        Meath A

1.       C. Nulty

2.       S. Kennedy

3.       L. Clarke

4.       B. Connaughton

5.       T.P. Reilly

6.       N. Clarke


        Meath B

7.       D. Meehan

8.       B. McKenna

9.       T. Kennedy

10.    M. McKenna

11.    O. McKenna

12.    B. Everett



13.    T. Reilly



14.    M. O’Donoghue

15.    M. Kinsella

16.    P. Murphy

17.    J. Lawlor



18.    D. Carroll

19.    G. Howard

20.    S. O’Hanlon

21.    J. Roche



22.    J. McConville



23.    J. Mangan

24.    B. Flynn

25.    P. Healy

26.    M. Lacey

27.    M. Moriarty

28.    G. Mangan



29.    M. Cahill

30.    J. O’Sullivan

31.    P. Sargent

32.    D. O’Reilly

33.    C. Moylan

34.    J. Keogh



35.    T. Gavin

36.    T. O’Neill

37.    P. Costello

38.    T. Kelly



39.    J. Murphy

40.    P. Arrowsmith

41.    N. McGuill



42.    D. McHale

43.    M. Collins

44.    N. Lynch

45.    M. Christle

46.    S. O’Tuathail



47.    G. Puissegur

48.    D. Lefol

49.    J.L. Marionneau

50.    R. Gauthier

51.    D. Caqueret

52.    R. Lozingo



53.    P. Hyland

54.    D. Moran



55.    B. Davey

56.    G. McCoole

57.    H. Mulholland

58.    P. Magee

59.    M. Tinnelly

60.    J. Cough



61.    W. Kennedy

62.    J. Cashin

63.    T. Cuddihy

64.    F. Hickey

65.    T. Shanahan



66.    E. Thackaberry



67.    B. Monaghan

68.    J. Traynor

69.    S. O’Hare



70.    T. Mooney

71.    N. Davey

72.    J. Mullaney

73.    M. O’Hara



74.    E. Reilly

75.    B. Holmes


Batty Flynn, Kerry winner of four stages and finished 5th. Overall @15.50

Mike O'Donoghue Carlow Stage Winner

T.P Reilly, Meath A 6th Overall Batty Flynn,Kerry winner of four stages and 5th.Overall and Gabriel Howard, Dublin 3rd Overall in the 1971 Ras Tailteann

Kerry Team. M .Lacey, B.Flynn, J.Mangan, M. Moriarty, P.Healy, G, Mangan, Manager Pat O'Callaghan

1971 Tipperary Rás Team Michael Power Manager, Tom Shanahan, Tom Cuddihy, Joe Cashin, Finbar Hickey & Billy Kennedy

Latest Headlines
1979 Stephen Roche Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1977 Yuri Lavyrushkin U.S.S.R. Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1976 Fons Steuten Holland Wins Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1975 Paddy Flanagan Kildare Wins The Discover Ireland Ras Tailteann
1974 Peter Doyle I.C.F.Wins The Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1973 Mike O' Donoghue, Carlow Wins The Tayto Rás Tailteann
1973 Race Manual
1972 John Mangan Setanta C.C. Wins Your Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann
1971 Colm Nulty Meath WinsYour Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann


Last Updated: Feb 21st, 2021 - 11:25:42

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media