Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Route Details
 Press Releases
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2020
 Race Manual 2019
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
By Eddie Dawson
May 10, 2007, 13:34


Health Race Rás Tailteann 1978

24th. June - 2nd. July


Stage 1A:  Shannon 2 Miles T.T.

Stage 1B:  Shannon Town To Listowel 65 Miles.
Shannon Town, Limerick, Dooradoyle Prime, Patrickswell, Adare Prime, Rathkeale, Newcastlewest, Barnagh Gap K.O.M. Prime, Templeglantine Prime, Abbeyfeale, Listowel.

Stage 2A:  Listowel To Galway 74 Miles.
Listowel Neutralized To Tarbert/Killimor, Killimor, Kilrush, Liscasey, Ennis, Crusheen, Gort Prime, Ardrahan, Kilcolgan, Oranmore, Galway.

Stage 2B:  Galway Criterium 24 Miles.

Stage 3:    Galway To Clifden 87 Miles.
Galway, An Spideal, Indreabhan Prime, Casla, An Ceathru Rua, Casla, Screeb, Gortmore, Cill Chiarain Prime, Carna, Glinsk, Toombeola, Baile Cloch Na Ron, Baile Conaola, Clifden.

Stage 4:   Clifden To Castlebar 74 Miles.
Clifden, K.O.M. Prime, Letterfrack Prime, Tully Cross, Leenane, Louisburgh, Westport Prime, Newport Prime, Castlebar.

Stage 5:   Castlebar To Bundoran 87 miles.
Castlebar, Pontoon, Ballina, Enniscrone Prime, Dromore West, Skreen Prime, Ballysodare, Sligo Prime, Drumcliff Prime, Bundoran.

Stage 6:   Bundoran To Letterkenny 96 Miles.
Bundoran, Ballyshannon Prime, Donegal Prime, Mountcharles K.O.M. Prime, Dunkineely, Killybegs Prime, K.O.M. Prime, Carrick, Glengesh K.O.M. Prime, Ardara, Glenties, Fintown, K.O.M. Prime, Letterkenny.

Stage 7:   Letterkenny To Warrenpoint 101 Miles.
Letterkenny, Strabane, Newtownstewart, Omagh, Garvaghy, Aughnacloy, Armagh, Markethill, Newry, Warrenpoint.

Stage 8:   Warrenpoint To Balbriggan 88 Miles.
Warrenpoint, Newry, Omeath, Windy Gap K.O.M. Prime, Dundalk, Ardee, Mount Oriel K.O.M. Prime, Collon, Slane, Navan, Kentstown, Duleek, Bellewstown K.O.M. Prime, Stamullen Prime, Balbriggan.

Stage 9:   Balbriggan To Pheonix Park 66 Miles.
Balbriggan, Skerries, Rush, Lusk, Swords, Rathoath, Clonee, Phoenix Park(15 Laps).

Race Director:     Paddy O'Callaghan

Paddy O'Callaghan Race Director

Stage Winners:

Seamus Kennedy Kerry Winner Of The1978 Rás And Stage 7

Stage 1A:    Shannon, 2 Miles T.T.   W. Von Hacht (Bavaria)   2-83

Stage 1B:    Shannon To Listowel, 65 Miles.   H. Willer (Germany)  2-20-35

Stage 2A:    Listowel To Galway, 74 Miles.   A. Kesters (Belgium) 3-01-05

Stage 2B:   Galway Criterium 20 Laps.   A. Hilgert (Germany) 30-05

Stage 3:      Galway To Clifden, 87 Miles.   D. Devin (Meath) 3-52-0

Stage 4:      Clifden To Castlebar, 74 Miles.   J. Wochter (Germany)  3-14-21

Stage 5:      Castlebar To Bundoran, 87 Miles.   B. Power (Tipperary) 3-25-25

Stage 6:      Bundoran To Letterkenny, 96 Miles.   A. Kesters (Belgium) 4-10-05

Stage 7:      Letterkenny To Warrenpoint, 101 Miles.   S. Kennedy (Kerry AIF) 3-39-24

Stage 8:      Warrenpoint To Balbriggan, 88 Miles.   A. Kesters (Belgium) 3-27-36

Stage 9:      Balbriggan To Phoenix Park, 66 Miles.   W. Von Hacht (Bavaria)   2-30-00

Bobby Power Tipperary Second Overall & Stage Winner

W. von Hacht Of Bavaria Wins The Final Satge In The Phoenix Park No. 15 N. Struver Germany Second

Race Leader Seamus Kennedy Saying Hello To Children At The Start Of Stage 5.

General Classification











S. Kennedy, Kerry AIF.

B. Power, Tipperary Cidona.  

H. Willer, Bavaria.

H. Krins, Holland.

D. Devin, Meath Sheerin.

H. Bernreider, Bavaria.

S. O’Hanlon, Dublin.

J. O’Sullivan, Ireland

A. Kesters, Belgium.

P. Flanagan, Ireland.

 30-22-34       01-02









Points Winner:
A. Kesters, Belgium
Mountains Winner:
H. Willer, Bavaria

Junior  Award  Winner
Pat Carey Cork
International Team:  Ireland
P.Flanagan, N.Clarke, J.O'Sullivan, P.McHugh
County Team:  Meath Tayto
G. Howard, T.P.Reilly, K. Reilly, M.McKenna, E.Connolly
 List Of Competitors 1978


1.      W. Laechel

2.      H. Bernrieder

3.      F. Krune

4.     W von Hacht 



5.      A. Kesters

6.      A. Volckaerts

7.      J. Driesne

8.      L. Swerts



9.      Lavignac

10.   Loriot

11.   Pivain

12.   Decaup



13.   H. Willer

14.   A. Hilgert

15.   N. Struver

16.   H. Wolfgang Schwingel



17.   A. Bolsius

18.   A. Emmen

19.   W. Vermetten

20.   P. Martens



21.   P. Flanagan

22.   N. Clarke

23.   J. O’Sullivan

24.   P. McHugh



25.   M. Graham

26.   D. Trainor

27.   B. Davey

28.   J. McGarry

29.   S. Crotty


Carlow, Meadows

30.   M. O’Donoghue

31.   J. O’Neill

32.   J. Walsh

33.   J. Halpin

34.   M. Hoey



35.   D. O’Connell

36.   P. Crowley

37.   J. Collin

38.   P. Carey

39.   S. Curtin



40.   S. O’Hanlon

41.   B. Monaghan

42.   D. Sheehan

43.   L. Cannon

44.   S. O’Hare


Galway South

45.   B. Goode

46.   M. Mooney

47.   T. O’Neill

48.   P. McInerney

49.   M. McInerney


Galway North

50.   T. Mannion

51.   S. Mannion

52.   P. Landy


Kerry A.I.F.

53.   S. Kennedy

54.   A. O’Halloran

55.   M. Breen

56.   P. Healy

57.   D. Clifford



58.   Joe Cashin

59.   John Cashin

60.   A. Cullen



61.   J. Smullen

62.   E. Thackaberry

63.   W. McConn

64.   J. Kearney

65.   E. Flanagan



66.   D. Keenan

67.   J. Murphy

68.   P. Arrowsmith

69.   C. Rooney

70.   E. Larrissey


Limerick K.F.C.

71.   G. Costelloe

72.   T. O’Brien

73.   J. Twomey

74.   J. Houlihan

75.   P.J. Sweeney


Meath Tayto

76.   G. Howard

77.   T.P. Reilly

78.   K. Reilly

79.   M. McKenna

80.   E. Connolly


Meath P.J. White

81.   C. Reynolds

82.   S. Maguire

83.   K. Fennessy

84.   L. Clarke

85.   A.N. Other


Meath Sheerin

86.   M. Kennedy

87.   B. Kavanagh

88.   T. Kennedy

89.   B. McKenna

90.   D. Devin


Offaly P.M.P.A.

91.   E. Scully

92.   S. Mangan

93.   R. Scanlon

94.   S. Nulty


Sligo N.C.F. Foods

95.   M. O’Hara

96.   T. Mooney

97.   N. Davey

98.   S. Higgins

99.   T. McKee



100.B. Power

101.B. Kennedy

102.L. Power

103.R. Sheehan

104.P. Power



105.D. Moran



Paddy O'Callaghan, Race Director, Seamus Kennedy, A.I.F Kerry Race Winner and team Manager Gerry Keogh

No. 90 Denis Devin Meath Sheerin, No 21 Paddy fanagan Ireland, No 19 W. Vermetten Holland, No 36 Patsy Crowley Cork, Christy Reynolds Mesth P.J.White In The Donegal Mountains


Seamus Kennedy

Martin McKenna, Meath Tayto

Christy Reynolds, Meath

Belgium team of 1978

Sligo Ras team Sam Higgins, Tony Mooney, Noel Davey and Martin OHara

Photographs © Copyright www.rástailteann.com

Latest Headlines
1979 Stephen Roche Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1977 Yuri Lavyrushkin U.S.S.R. Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1976 Fons Steuten Holland Wins Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1975 Paddy Flanagan Kildare Wins The Discover Ireland Ras Tailteann
1974 Peter Doyle I.C.F.Wins The Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1973 Mike O' Donoghue, Carlow Wins The Tayto Rás Tailteann
1973 Race Manual
1972 John Mangan Setanta C.C. Wins Your Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann
1971 Colm Nulty Meath WinsYour Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann


Last Updated: Apr 22nd, 2021 - 16:51:29

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media