Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Route Details
 Press Releases
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2020
 Race Manual 2019
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



1977 Yuri Lavyrushkin U.S.S.R. Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
By Eddie Dawson
May 10, 2007, 09:10

The Health Race Rás Tailteann 1977

11th. June -19nd. June


Stage 1A: 2 Mile Time Trial Phoenix Park.

Stage 1B: Dublin To Carrickmacross, 87 Miles.
Dublin, Navan, Kells, Oldcastle, Virginia, Bailieboro, Kingscourt, Carrickmacross.

Stage 2:   Carrickmacross To Boyle, 90 Miles.
Carrickmacross, Shercock, canningstown, Cavan, Crossdonney, Killeshandra, Ballinamore, Brumshanbo, Ballyfarnon, Ballinafad, Boyle.

Stage 3:   Boyle To Nenagh, 102 Miles.
Boyle, Tulsk ,roscommon, Athleague, Mountbellew, Ballinasloe, Laurencetown, Portumna, BorrisoKane, Nenagh.

Stage 4:   Nenagh To Castleisland, 81 Miles.
Nenagh, Portroe, Birdhill, Annacotty, Limerick, Adare, Newcastlewest, Abbeyfeale, Castleisland.

Stage 5:   Castleisland To Macroom, 91 Miles.
Castleisland, Farranfore, Killarney, Molls-Gap, Kenmare, Turners Rock Tunnel, Glengarriff, Ballylicky, Pass Of Keimaneigh, Inchigeelagh, Macroom.

Stage 6:   Macroom To Clonmel, 94 Miles.
Macroom, Coachford, Cork, Carrigtwohill, Midleton, Castlemartyr Youghal, Clashmore, Ballymacabry, Clonmel.

Stage 7:   Clonmel To Courtown 87 Miles.
Clonmel, Carrick-On-Suir, Fiddown, Waterford, New Ross, Clonroche, Enniscorthy, Ferns, Gorey, Courtown.

Stage 8:   Courtown To Newbridge, 82 Miles.
Courtown, Gorey, Arklow, Woodenbridge, Aughrim, aughavannagh, Drumgoff, Laragh, Roundwood, Luggala, Sally Gap. Ballysmutton Bridge, Oldcourt, Blessington, Naas, Newbridge.

Stage 9:   Newbridge To Phoenix Park, 64 Miles.
Newbridge, Kildare, Kilmeague, Prosperous, clane, Celbridge, Lucan, Tinkers Hill, Greenmount, Castleknock, Whitesgate, 10 Laps Of 2 Mile Circuit.

Race Director:      Paddy O'Callaghan

Paddy O'Callaghan Race Director


Stage Winners:

Seamus Kennedy Ireland The Only Irishman To Win A Stage

Stage 1A:  2 Mile Time Trial Phoenix Park.   H. Willer (Germany) 3.49

Stage 1B:  Dublin To Carrickmacross, 87 Miles.  S. Chelpakov (U.S.S.R.)  3-31-00

Stage 2:    Carrickmacross To Boyle, 90 Miles.  Y. Lavrouchkin (U.S.S.R.) 3-51-00

Stage 3:    Boyle To Nenagh, 102 Miles.  H. Krins (Holland)  3-58-00

Stage 4:    Nenagh To Castleisland, 81 Miles.  S. Kennedy (Ireland) 3-18-00

Stage 5:
    Castleisland To Macroom, 91 Miles.  I. Gubaidulin (U.S.S.R.) 3-48-00

Stage 6:    Macroom To Clonmel, 94 Miles.   Y. Lavrouchkin (U.S.S.R.)  3-59-00

Stage 7:    Clonmel To Courtown 87 Miles.  Y. Lavrouchkin (U.S.S.R.)  3-52-00

Stage 8:    Courtown To Newbridge, 82 Miles. I. Gubaidulin (U.S.S.R.) 3-37-00

Stage 9:    Newbridge To Phoenix Park, 64 Miles. Y. Lavrouchkin (U.S.S.R.)2-26-49

Paddy Flanagan Ireland Third Overall In The I977 Rás Tailteann

Eamon Connolly Pipped Into Second Place In The Newbridge Stage By I. Gubaiddlin U.S.S.R. Connolly Finished Fifth Overall

General Classification











Y. Lavrouchkin, U.S.S.R.

S. Chelpakov, U.S.S.R.

P. Flanagan, Ireland

I. Gubaidulin, U.S.S.R.

E. Connolly, Meath Tayto

H. De Hey, Holland

D. Devin, Ireland

A. Kesters, Belgium

S. Kennedy, Ireland

J.C. Breure, France










S. Chelpakov USSR Winner Of stage 1b

Yuri Lavrushkin U.S.S.R. Winner If The Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann

Y. Lavrouchkin U.S.S.R.

I. Gubaidulin U.S.S.R.

International Team  U.S.S.R.
Y. Lavrouchkin, I. Gubaidulin, S. Chelpakov, S. Juralev

County Team Meath Tatyo
E. connolly G. Howard, K.Reilly, S. Nulty, M. McKenna

Meath Tayto Winning County Team 1977, Sam Nulty, Eamon Connolly, Kevin Reilly, Martin McKenna & Gabriel Howard & Manager Seamus Gilligan

List Of Competitors In 1977


1.    F. Croons

2.    G. Soimmen

3.    A. Kesters

4.    H. Landsbergen



5.    J. C. Breure

6.    B. Revoal

7.    J.J. Cornet

8.    G. Moulin



9.    H. Schwingel

10. N. Struver

11. H. Neuberger

12. K. Sonntag



13. F. Steuten

14. H. Krins

15. A. Salentun

16. H. De Hey



17. P. Flanagan

18. S. Kennedy

19. D. Devin

20. B. Power



25. I. Gubaidlin

26. S. Juralev

27. Y. Lavrouchkin

28. S. Chelpakov



29. E. Magennis

30. P. McHugh

31. J. McGarry

32. G. Lundy



34. D. O’Connell

35. J. O’Sullivan

36. S. Curtin

37. G. Costello



38. S. O’Hanlon

39. A. Byrne

40. L. Keegan

41. S. O’Hare

42. E. Rafter



43. P. Healy

44. M. Breen

45. T. Sullivan

46. A. O’Halloran



47. P. Byrne

48. J. Smullen

49. J. Kearney

50. E. Thackaberry

51. W. McConn



52. C. Rooney

53. P. Arrowsmith

54. D. Keenan


Meath P.J. White

55. B. Connaughton

56. N. Clarke

57. S. Maguire

58. L. Clarke

59. C. Reynolds


Meath Tayto

60. E. Connolly

61. G. Howard

62. K. Reilly

63. S. Nulty

64. M. McKenna


Meath C

65. M. Kennedy

66. T. Kennedy

67. J. Hickey

68. J. McNally



69. S. Mannion

70. T. Mannion

71. T. O’Neill

73. J. Madden


Veterans Team A.I.F.

74. G. Mangan

75. B. McKenna

76. B. Monaghan

77. S. Egan

78. J. Murphy


French Regional

79. B. Dupin

80. A. Boudard

81. J. Boudard

82. G. De France

83. D. Deruelle



84. E. Scully


paddy O'Callaghan Race Director No.2 G. Soimmen Belgium Bobby Power Ireland, Seanus Kennedy Ireland, Henk de Hey Holland

Denis Devin Ireland Gets Serviced After a Puncture

Yuri Lavrushkin U.S.S.R. With The Dignam Twins Deirdre And Eimear

Denis Devin Ireland dons The Race Leaders Yellow Jersey On Stage Two

Denis Devin Ireland dons The Race Leaders Yellow Jersey On Stage Two

Tommy Mannion receiving 1st junior category award from Barbara Mellon Race Sec. and Jim Kelly in 1977

Noel Clarke, Navan P.J. White Construction

Christy Reynolds. Navan P.J.White Construction

Three members of the A.I.F. Vets Team in the 1977 Rás. L to R Brian Monaghan, Ben McKenna & Jack Murphy.

The 25th. Ras Tailteann Logo 1977

Photographs © Copyright www.rástailteann.com

Latest Headlines
1979 Stephen Roche Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1977 Yuri Lavyrushkin U.S.S.R. Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
1976 Fons Steuten Holland Wins Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1975 Paddy Flanagan Kildare Wins The Discover Ireland Ras Tailteann
1974 Peter Doyle I.C.F.Wins The Discover Ireland Rás Tailteann
1973 Mike O' Donoghue, Carlow Wins The Tayto Rás Tailteann
1973 Race Manual
1972 John Mangan Setanta C.C. Wins Your Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann
1971 Colm Nulty Meath WinsYour Better Off Saving Rás Tailteann


Last Updated: Mar 9th, 2021 - 22:15:13

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media