Rás Tailteann is promoted under     Cycling Ireland     and     UCI     rules  
 Route Details
 Press Releases
 Picture Gallery
 Race Manual 2020
 Race Manual 2019
 Race Manual 2018
 Race Manual 2017
 Race Admin
 Rás Over The Years
 Rás Stories
 Kreiz Breizh Élites


Sponsored by:


President Cycles
Rás Archives



1980 Billy Kerr Ireland Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann
By Eddie Dawson
May 10, 2007, 17:48


The 1980 Health Race Rás Tailteann

21th. June- 29th June


Stage 1:  Dublin To Monaghan, 83 Miles.
Dublin, Santry, Swords, Balbriggan, Drogheda, Tullyesker, Dunleer, Castlebellingham, Dundalk, Castleblaney, Clontibret, Monaghan.

Stage 2:  Monaghan To Strabane, 98 Miles.
Monaghan, Middletown, Killylea By-Pass, Armagh, Dungannon, Coalisland, Stewartstown, Cookstown, Lough-Fea, Plumbridge, Strabane.

Stage 3:  Strabane To Dubgloe, 86 Miles.
Strabane, Letterkenny, Kilmacrenan, Creeslough, Dunfanaghy, Falcarragh, Gortahork, Bunbeg, Dungloe.

Stage 4:  Dungloe To Donegal, 74 Miles.
Dongloe, Maas, Glenties, Glengesh-Pass, Croaghnaleaba, Glencolmcille, Contycro-Hill, Killybegs, Donegal.

Stage 5:  Donegal To Roscommon, 94 Miles.
Donegal, Ballyshannon, Bundoran, Sligo, Ballysodare, Collooney, Boyle, Tulsk, Roscommon.

Stage 6:  Roscommon  To Thurles, 105 Miles.
Roscommon, Knockcroghery, Athlone, Ferbane, Cloghan, Birr, Roscrea, Moneygall, Toomyvara, Borrisoleigh, Holy Cross, Thurles.

Stage 7:  Thurles To Gorey, 92 Miles.
Thurles, Two-Mile-Borris, Urlingford, Freshford, Kilkenny, Thomastown, Inistioge, Enniscorthy, Ferns, Gorey.

Stage 8:  Gorey To Carlow, 86 Miles.
Gorey, Arklow, Woodenbridge, Aughavannagh, Drumgoff, Laragh, Wicklow Gap, Donard, Baltinglass, Castledermot, Carlow.

Stage 9:  Carlow to Dunlin 74, Miles.
Carlow, Castledermot, Timolin, Kilcullen, Naas, Sallins, Clane, Celbridge, Lucan, Whitesgate Phoenix Park,

Stage Winners:

Alan McCormack Double Stage Winner

Stage 1:
  Dublin To Monaghan, 83 Miles.  A. McCormack (Dublin Kelly Carpets) 3-13-00

Stage 2:  Monaghan To Strabane, 98 Miles. N. Martin (Dublin Kelly Carpets) 3-49-00

Stage 3:  Strabane To Dubgloe, 86 Miles.  B. Power (Tipperary) 3-28-00

Stage 4:  Dungloe To Donegal, 74 Miles.  A. McCormack (Dublin Kelly Carpets) 3-02-00

Stage 5:  Donegal To Roscommon, 94 Miles.  P.McQuaid (Dublin Kellys Carpets) 3-28-00

Stage 6:  Roscommon  To Thurles, 105 Miles.  J. Mangan (Kerry) 3-40-00

Stage 7:  Thurles To Gorey, 92 Miles.  N. Martin (Dublin Kelly Carpets) 3-18-00

Stage 8:  Gorey To Carlow, 86 Miles.  B. Kerry (Ireland) 3.48.00

Stage 9:  Carlow to Dublin 74, Miles.  M. Kelly (Dublin Falcon) 3-09-12

Bobby Power Tipperary Winner Into Dungloe

Martin Kelly, Dublin, Falcon winner of the final stage

Race Director:     Dermot Dignam

Neill Martin Kelly Carpets Dublin Double Stage Winner

General Classifications











B Kerr, Ireland.

J. Peterson, Germany BMW

M. Nulty, Meath Kellys

P. McQuaid, Dublin Kellys

J. Mangan, Kerry

A. Cunningham, Antrim

A. Adams, Scotland

J. Walsh, Ireland

E. Connolly Meath Tayto

J. McManus, Scotland











John Mangan, Kerry Points Winner

Mountains And Overall Winner Billy Kerr

International Team Scotland
W. Gibb, A. Adams, J. McManus, S. Finnegan

County Team Meath Kellys
M. Nulty. P.Morton, C. Nulty, P.Cassidy, P.Flanagan

List Of Competitors For 1980


1.    S. Roche

2.    B. Kerr

3.    S. McIlroy

4.    O. McQuaid


Denmark Aer Lingus

5.    K. Frisch

6.    J. Kynde

7.    J. Hansen

8.    G. Oestergard



9.    B. Marty

10. J. Kaufmman

11. S. Governatore

12. R. Mazella


Germany BMW

13. H. Willer

14. W. Forster

15. J. Peterson

16. R. Meyer



17. W. Gibb

18. A. Adams

19. J. McManus

20. S. Finneagan



21. N. Hodge

22. D. Folland

23. K. Jones

24. P. Evans



25. A. Cunningham

26. A. McKeown

27. J. McKenna

28. B. Monaghan

29. D. Sheehan



30. J. Hatchell

31. P. Henry

32. V. McLoughlin

33. P. Talbot

34. S. Crotty



35. J. O’sullivan

36. D. McCarthy

37. D. Crowley

38. C. Maylan

39. J. Hegarty


Dublin South

40. K. McInerney

41. T. Kelly

42. H. Sherratt

43. E. Smith

44. P. Mahon


Dublin Kellys Carpets

45. B. McCormack

46. P. McQuaid

47. S. O’Hanlon

48. A. McCormack

49. N. Martin


Dublin East

50. M. Usher

51. D. Lambert

52. J. Fay

53. G. O’Rourke

54. H. Dawson


Dublin West

55. S. Darragh

56. E. Mongry

57. B. McMahon

58. B. Murry

59. E. Dunne


Dublin North

60. R. McCormack

61. K. Sinclair

62. L. Wheatley

63. A. Ellard

64. M. Ussher


Dublin Kalkhoff

65. T. Lally

66. S. Lally

67. M. McKenna

68. T. Murphy

69. T. Curtis


Dublin Falcon

70. J. Maloney

71. D. Gilleran

72. J. McQuaid

73. M. Kelly

74. K. McQuaid


Dublin B.L. Cars

75. P. Tansey

76. S. O’Grady

77. J. McSherry

78. D. Long

79. R. McSherry



80. B. Madden

81. R. Philips

82. T. Mannion

83. N. Madden

84. P. Davis



85. P. Healy

86. J. Mangan

87. A. O’Halloran

88. L. Dowd

89. K. Murphy


Meath Tayto

90. E. Connolly

91. G. Howard

92. K. Reilly

93. E. Keogh

94. G. Campbell


Meath Kellys

95. M. Nulty

96. P. Morton

97. C. Nulty

98. P. Cassidy

99. P. Flanagan


Meath Tirolia

100.               N. Clarke

101.               B. Connaughton

102.               M. Kennedy

103.               R. O’Coileán

104.               S. Kennedy



105.               B. Power

106.               T. Ryan

107.               L. Power

108.               R. Malone

109.               P. Power



110.               J. Walsh


Billy Kerr Ireland Winner Of The Health Race Rás Tailteann

Billy Kerr, Ireland Winner of the 1980 Health Race Rás Tailteann with the George Plant Trophy (Photo courtesy of Paul Butler)

Martin Kelly Dublin Falcon Winning Stage Nine Of The Healt Race Ras Tailteann

Paul Tansey, Dublin B.L. Cars, Martin Kelly, Dublin Falcon and Kevin McInerney, Dublin South

Billy Kerr Race Leader and J Peterson Germany BME (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

John Mangan Kerry And Philip Cassidy,Meath Kellys (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Colm Nulty Meath Kellys Carpets,Joe McSherry Dublin BL Cars Paddy Power Tipperery J. McManus Scotland (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Paul McCormack Dyblin Kellys and John Mangan ,Kerry (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Neil Martin, Dublin Kelly Carpets and Alasdair Adams, Scotland (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Neil Martin, Dublin Kelly's Carpets attacking on Glengesh Pass on Stage 4 from Dungloe to Donegal (Picture courtesy Paul Butler)

Paul Tansey Dublin BL Cars and Colm Nulty, Meath Kellys (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Tony Murphy Dublin Kelkhoff, Eddie Keogh Meath Tayto and J. Peterson, Germany (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Paul McCormack, Dublin Kelly Carpets (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

John McQuaid, Dublin Falcon wins stage five of the race but was disqyallified for taking both hands off the handlebars the stage went to John Mangan Kerry (Courtesy of Paul McKenna)

Start Of Stage two in Monaghan Town

Team Kelkhoff, Sean Lally, Tony Lally, Mick McKenna, Tony Murphy, Tony Curtis

Noel Madden, Tommy Mannion, Brendan Madden, Robbie Philips, Paddy Davis and manager Phil O'Brien

Latest Headlines
1989 Dainis Ozoles, U.S.S.R. Wins FBD Milk Rás
1988 Paul McCormack Ireland Wins Back To Back FBD Milk Rás
1987 Paul McCormack, Longford Wins FBD Milk Rás Tailteann
1986 Stephen Spratt Tipperary-Yoplait Wins FBD Milk Rás Tailteann
1985 Nicolai Kosiakov U.S.S.R. Wins FBD Milk Rás Tailteann
1984 Stephen Delaney, Dublin Leyland Wins FBD Milk Rás Tailteann
1983 Philip Cassidy Raleigh Ireland Wins The Dairy Rás Tailteann
1982 Dermot Gilleran Ireland Wins Tirolia Rás Tailteann
1981 Jamie McGahan Scotland Wins The Tirolia Rás Tailteann
1980 Billy Kerr Ireland Wins The Health Race Rás Tailteann


Last Updated: Mar 16th, 2020 - 11:12:03

Website maintained by:
Dragonfly Web Media